Tuesday, April 22, 2008

Rafe Martin wins the 2007 EMPIRE STATE AWARD!

BookArtist Rafe Martin is this year's recipient of the Empire State Award!

First presented in 1990 by the Youth Services Section of the New York Library Association, the Empire State Award is a one-time award presented to a living author or illustrator currently residing in New York State.The award honors a body of work which represents excellence in Children's or Young Adult literature and has made a significant contribution to literature for young people. An engraved medallion is presented to the winning author or illustrator at the Annual Conference of the New York Library Association.The award and medallion will be presented at the NYS State Library Conference, Nov. 7, 2008, in Saratoga Springs at the Youth Services Luncheon, where Rafe will also be giving a talk.

Rafe joins such illustrious past recipients as:

2006-Donald Crews
2005 - M.E. Kerr
2004 - Alice Provensen
2003 - Seymour Simon
2002 - Jerry Pinkney
2001 - Jean Fritz
2000 - Peter Spier
1999 - Vera B. Williams
1998 - Jean Craighead George
1997 - Richard Peck
1996 - Nancy Willard
1995 - Ed Young
1994 - Paula Fox
1993 - Russell Freedman
1992 - Leo and Diane Dillon
1991 - Madeleine L'Engle
1990 - Maurice Sendak