Friday, September 26, 2008


by Maurie J. Manning


Written by Elizabeth Bluemle

Saturday, July 05, 2008


By Jackie Mitchard

Friday, May 16, 2008

Kevan Attebury wins a 2008 Children's Choice Award!

The Children's Choice Book Awards program was created to provide young readers with an opportunity to voice their opinions about the books being written for them and to help develop a reading list that will motivate children to read. The program is a new component of Children's Book Week, the longest running literacy event in the country.

The full list of Children's Choice Book Award winners for 2008 are:

  • Kindergarten to Second Grade Book of the Year:

Frankie Stein written by Lola M. Schaefer, illustrated by Kevan Atteberry (Marshall Cavendish Corporation)

  • Third Grade to Fourth Grade Book of the Year

Big Cats by Elaine Landau (Enslow Publishers)

  • Fifth Grade to Sixth Grade Book of the Year

Encyclopedia Horrifica by Joshua Gee (Scholastic)

  • Illustrator of the Year Award

Ian Falconer, Olivia Helps with Christmas (Simon & Schuster)

  • Author of the Year Award

J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Scholastic)

Monday, May 12, 2008


By Jill Esbaum

Tuesday, April 22, 2008

Rafe Martin wins the 2007 EMPIRE STATE AWARD!

BookArtist Rafe Martin is this year's recipient of the Empire State Award!

First presented in 1990 by the Youth Services Section of the New York Library Association, the Empire State Award is a one-time award presented to a living author or illustrator currently residing in New York State.The award honors a body of work which represents excellence in Children's or Young Adult literature and has made a significant contribution to literature for young people. An engraved medallion is presented to the winning author or illustrator at the Annual Conference of the New York Library Association.The award and medallion will be presented at the NYS State Library Conference, Nov. 7, 2008, in Saratoga Springs at the Youth Services Luncheon, where Rafe will also be giving a talk.

Rafe joins such illustrious past recipients as:

2006-Donald Crews
2005 - M.E. Kerr
2004 - Alice Provensen
2003 - Seymour Simon
2002 - Jerry Pinkney
2001 - Jean Fritz
2000 - Peter Spier
1999 - Vera B. Williams
1998 - Jean Craighead George
1997 - Richard Peck
1996 - Nancy Willard
1995 - Ed Young
1994 - Paula Fox
1993 - Russell Freedman
1992 - Leo and Diane Dillon
1991 - Madeleine L'Engle
1990 - Maurice Sendak

Wednesday, March 12, 2008

Sara Pennypacker wins the GOLDEN KITE AWARD

PIERRE IN LOVE, written by BookArtist Sara Pennypacker is the winner of the The Society of Children's Books Writers and Illustrators 2007 Golden Kite Award for Picture Book Text.

Instituted in 1973, the Golden Kite Awards are the only children’s literary award judged by a jury of peers. More than 1,000 books are entered each year.

Sara says . . . . "this award is so sweet for me because I wrote PIERRE for a close friend, as she was dying of breast cancer. She was the most loving, generous woman I've ever known, and my kids and I adored her. When I got the news PIERRE had won, a poet friend said it seemed to him that awards always came to writers right when they were having difficult times (the last few weeks had been very difficult, personally - ok now, though, no worries.) and I realized that he was close to a truth - that maybe the best books are written during difficult times. I remember that in writing PIERRE for Pella, I wanted her to hear the best I had, to know that I'd blown out all the stops for her. Or maybe it was more a feeling of what the hell are you saving it for? Whatever it was, I wrote PIERRE in tears and full of love the whole time, and now to win means so much to me."

Wednesday, March 05, 2008

MISSING MATH: A Number Mystery

By Loreen Leedy

Buy this book on Amazon

Jane Yolen wins the 2008 CLAUDIA LEWIS AWARD

The Claudia Lewis Award, given for the first time in 1998, honors the late Claudia Lewis, distinguished children's book expert and longtime member of the Bank Street College faculty and Children's Book Committee. She conveyed her love and understanding of poetry with humor and grace. The award is given for the best poetry book of the year.

Here's a Little Poem: A Very First Book of Poetry collected by Jane Yolen and Andrew Fusek Peters, illustrated by Polly Dunbar(Candlewick Press) has been chosen as the 2008 winner.

Dan San Souci wins a BLUE HEN BOOK AWARD

The Blue Hen Book Award is a children's choice award sponsored by the Children's Services Division of the Delaware Library Association. Each year children have the opportunity to vote on selected picture or chapter books published in the last year. The book that receives the most votes in each category will win the Blue Hen Book Award.

Children voting on books nominated by the Delaware Library Association's Children's Services Division picked three stories as winners of the Association's Blue Hen Book Awards. They include picture book winner: "Space Station Mars" by BookArtist Daniel San Souci (Tricycle Press).